Barry Township Open Hearing Minutes

August 6, 2024

The meeting was called to order at 7 pm, and the Pledge recited. In attendance were Supervisor Chairman Ed Hattenberger, Supervisor Kim Crow, Supervisor Keith Kappauf, Treasurer Dick Prenovost, Clerk Sue Dutcher and Townspersons Don Lindquist, Al Moon, Bobbi Butler, Doug Degerstrom, Steve Sikkink, Kathy Sikkink, Gina Steele, Betty Sikkink, Denise Degerstrom and Carri Hagle.

The Agenda was approved with a motion from Ed, 2nd by Kim. Motion carried.

Kim explained the necessity of rezoning the area donated for the town hall. He scheduled the Open Hearing after consulting with legal advisors from the Minnesota Association of Townships.

Townspeople then spoke:

Doug Degerstrom worried this change would make it easier for others to change zones... (Kim explained that wouldn't be a problem)

Don Lindquist wondered who called the meeting and was concerned that the Board was not following state statutes. (Kim read section 14 of the zoning ordinance)

Steve Sikkink asked if the Board had considered a budget for overhead maintenance for the hall. (Ed replied not yet as he didn't have the insurance costs yet)

Kandy Dohrmann asked how much the building would cost all together. (Ed named off the costs he knew offhand)

Carri Hagle expressed opposition to the town hall.

Denise Degerstrom asked how the hall would be heated. (Ed explained the heater that comes with the hall)

Marc Dick asked at which point the township would actually own the land. He questioned whether the township zoning administrator required a two year degree.

Discussion followed and Kim, 2nd by Ed, called a vote to pass a motion – "The 2.57acre parcel located at the SE1/4 -NE1/4 of Section 35 Township 41 Range 20 be removed from the Agricultural/Residential/Seasonal Recreational/Forestry District and rezoned into the Commercial/Industrial/Residential District."

Vote was 3-0. Motion carried.

There was a motion from	Ed, 2 nd by Kim to adjourn	n the meeting. Motion o	carried. The meeting ad	journed
at 7:37 pm.				

Chairman Ed Hattenberger	Clerk Sue Dutcher